Fixtures and Results


About Curling


Curling Links


Club Honours




George Heriot's School F P Curling Club

George Heriot’s FP Curling Club

(Founded 2010)

A group of members and friends at the 2017 Summer Barbecue


Honorary Secretary’s Report for Season 2017-18


Although the Club has had better playing records in past seasons, season 2017-18 was our most successful in terms of winning trophies, regaining the FP League ‘Broom’ and the Ian Brown Rose Bowl from Watsonians and winning both Wilson Heatlie Memorial Trophies from Boswall and Stewarts Melville respectively. The Club also had a good run in the King George IV Cup, reaching the semi-finals before going out to Edinburgh Rotary. Sadly, our decision to continue to play in the Province League proved unwise, with the Club unable to raise complete rinks on two occasions.

 We continue to bask in the reflected glow of Bruce Mouat’s achievements.  Bruce not only won a prestigious event in Canada but went on to skip his new rink to the Scottish Championships and earn the right to represent Scotland in the World Championships in USA by defeating Scotland’s Olympic representatives in the best of three play-off matches.


 2017 saw the passing of Wilson Heatlie, one of the founding members of the Club. A number of members attended a celebration of Wilson’s life at the School where his sister, Helen, donated Wilson’s christening mug to the Club, to be played for as the Committee decided.

 Two new playing members, Douglas Fairley and Ed Stanley, were recruited during the year. Sadly, Douglas has yet to turn out for the club. Although the playing membership stands at 20, around 30% of that number played on an occasional basis only, and several failed to put in an appearance at all. We would like to see greater participation by ALL our playing members.

Season’s Results

   Our thanks go to George Edington (FP League), Tim Price (Half Century), Ian Brockie (Province) and myself (Other fixtures) for selecting and organising our rinks in these matches.

                                                 Played                             Won                      Lost                       Peeled

FP League                                    8                           5                            2                               1

Half Century                              11                          3                            8                               0 

Province Div 3                            8                            2                            6                               0

Other Matches                           4                           2                             2                               0                                                                      

All Matches                               31                        12                            18                              1


FP League

I think it would be fair to say that we were beginning to wonder whether Father Time had caught up with us but George Edington did a great job in appealing to the membership for a renewed effort to wrest the ‘Broom’ back from Watsonians. Although the final margin of victory was considerable, there were key moments, epitomised by Dave Munro’s last stone in the first round of matches against Watsonians where he managed to remove the Watsonian shot stone to lie 5 and tie a match that had looked to be beyond recovery.

Sadly, Watsonian Lauchlan MacLean did not quite survive long enough to see Heriot’s recover the ‘Broom’ that he had presented, passing away one week before the annual dinner and presentation of prizes. Characteristically, he did not forget to lay on the whisky miniatures that he traditionally presented to members of the winning club.

 Half Century League

We had another disappointing season in the Half Century League, finishing second bottom of the league table.. Tim Price (skip), George Edington and Ian Brockie played on a regular basis whilst Jack Aitken, Bryan Chatham, Douglas Goddard and Malcolm Wright took turns to fill the final place.

Province Division 3

 We decided to continue playing in the Province League so that those members who may not have had the opportunity to play regularly in other matches could turn out in the Province League. Unfortunately this thinking did not take into account how unpopular playing at 9.30pm was amongst the membership. As a result we had to forfeit two matches as a result of being unable to field complete rinks and when we were able to raise four players, they were not always strong enough to ensure a competitive match. The Committee has decided that we will not enter the Province League next season.

Importantly, one of our two wins in the season came against Boswall, thereby winning the Wilson Heatlie Sugar Bowl trophy.

Watsonian Challenge Rosebowl

The winner of the Ian Brown Rose Bowl is determined by the outcome of matches between the two clubs in the FP League. Heriot’s FP regained the trophy by 5 points to 3.

Wilson Heatlie Memorial Trophy

We were obliged to a member of the Heriot Angling Club who mounted Wilson’s christening mug which the Committee decided should be contested between Stewarts Melville and ourselves in FP League matches. Heriot’s FP were the first winners of the trophy by 6 points to 2.

FPs V School Challenge Quaich

Sadly, the annual match between the School and FP Curling Clubs did not take place due to the agreed date clashing with a parents evening. Hopefully, this will not occur again.

Following Bruce Mouat and Rowena Kerr’s successes it had been hoped that there would have been an upsurge of interest in curling at the School. Sadly this has not been the case. Mike Dick and I attended a meeting with the new Principal to see if ways could be found to increase the numbers opting for curling as their winter sport.

Other Matches

The club had a good run in the KGIV Cup before losing in the semi-final to Edinburgh Rotary. Douglas Goddard, Ian Brockie, Drew Wightman and Tim Price played in the early rounds and in the semi-final match skip Tim Price was unavailable and so Drew Wightman moved up to the skip’s position with Rachel Dakers coming in at lead.  In the only other match, Edinburgh Accies were comfortable winners.

Summer Social Activity

The Club organised a BBQ at Goldenacre, using the FP Cricket Club’s equipment. It was well supported by members and their partners. Thanks are due to Tim Price who took responsibility for cooking the burgers etc.

Committee Meetings

The Committee met twice during the year and discussed a number of other issues by email. My thanks on behalf of the members go to them all for their time and contributions.                        

Club Website

Thanks are due to Eric Begbie who, although domiciled in Harrogate, acts as webmaster for the Club’s website and has been meticulous in recording the outcome of match results.

Club Sweaters

Sadly, the company that manufactured the light blue sweater that the FP Curling Club had adopted as its Club colours had decided to cease manufacturing that colour. It is recommended that members source their own light blue sweater and have the Heriot crest embroidered on it by Sports Warehouse at a modest cost of £3.

Finally, my thanks, and congratulations, go to all members who turned out for the Club during the season


Douglas J Goddard

Honorary Secretary

28 March 2018


In action against the School Curling Club




George Heriot's FP Curling Club, Edinburgh, Scotland